THE National
Standards for
Quality Online Learning

K-12 Online Learning

The National Standards for Quality Online Courses, Online Teaching and Online Programs have been the benchmark for online programs, districts and state agencies since 2007.

Quality Online Learning

Oversight of the National Standards for Quality Online Learning has transitioned from iNACOL to the Virtual Learning Leadership Alliance (VLLA), Quality Matters (QM), and the Digital Learning Collaborative (DLC). Together these organizations provide oversight and lead a broad-based community effort to keep the standards current and relevant.

The Standards

Below are links to view or download the most current versions of each of the standards sets.

Follow us on Twitter

Expand your professional development in 2023 with @QMProgram online courses. On Feb. 2 and 14, join the course, “Improving Your Online Courses,” which explores the QM Rubric and provides a framework to improve the quality of online courses. Learn more: https://t.co/HfhvedsK0F.
New #QMCertified Courses!
@edmentum @Apex_Learning’s Personal Finance,
Louisiana English I A/B, & Holocaust Studies
@StrongMind’s Science Grade 8
& Social Studies Grade 7

@QMProgram #QMk12 #QMCertification https://t.co/4zbWJ0fUnB
1 4
QM Members: Learn how three educators developed a five-year plan for scaling quality at North Carolina State University — and how to start building your own!

Join us for a free QM Success Story: 1/25 at 1:00 p.m. ET.

https://t.co/DM3ZTejXM7 https://t.co/ZPPsi465Kn
5 6
Your holiday gift from us is the December #SIP! Learn more about online student/teacher relationships from @LCVirtualSchool at: https://t.co/okpsufuWV1 #onlinelearning #onlinecourses #standards @vllaonline @theDLCedu @QMProgram
6 9